Who Am I?

If you’re reading this, it’s because you’re curious about who I am. Great!

I’m Rafael Noboa Rivera. I’m 33, and as the brief description on the side says, I’m a “writer, activist, and sometime veteran”. But wait, there’s more!

I’m also a musician (24 years and counting on the violin! And I sing, too!). I like gadgets. I like good stuff. I read constantly (it goes with the writing). While you might think that I also like long, slow walks on the beach (wait…I kind of do), I’m not a huge piña colada fan (I prefer sidecars, actually – you should try it sometimes. Delicious). I have a cat named Tuck.

I’ve been writing since I was 8 years old. I’ve been writing online since 1999, and maintaining a blog of some kind or another since 2001.

I served in the Army for seven years as a forward observer. During that time I lived in Korea (which was totally awesome, and which place you totally check out, dear reader, if you get the chance). I also did a tour in Iraq, from April 2003 to March 2004 (which wasn’t as awesome in some respects, and more awesome in others).

After the Army, I worked in various political campaigns. Working for these campaigns made me fully aware of how hard it really is to make this country “a more perfect union”, in the words of the Original Dads. I also had the chance to work on the 2008 Democratic National Convention (that’s where the picture you see above was taken. Hi, Mom!). If you haven’t been to a convention, you should totally go – it’s a four-day party, basically. When the 2008 election ended, I worked for the Service Employees International Union, trying to reform our health care system.

In between working on these campaigns, I also worked at Apple. Apple’s one of those interesting companies that make you think about how things work – or don’t work, as the case may be. If you get the chance to work there, do it. I highly recommend it.

If you want to know more about the things I’ve learned, you could do a lot worse than read this. I’m currently working on this. I’ve written a bunch of stuff that you can find across the interwebs, but most of it is here.

That’s me, in a nutshell. Oh, and kittens are fuzzy. Like, really fuzzy. Even after they’re grown.

Comments are closed.