Another Hero

Y’know, it’s been a loooong time since I’ve posted here. Part of me was frustrated with the fact that my country, the one I love, the one I’ve bled for, chose quite willingly to go on in the direction it’s been shuffling in. It angered me. And so, because I was frustrated, I quit writing. I still kept my hand in the game, but it just didn’t feel the same. The other part is that I was sick–at times, quite sick–but as the Bard said, that was "another time, in another country–and besides, the wench is dead."

That all changed when I read this story by Gary Farber.  No matter which way you cut it, Sergeant Michael Pratt’s a hero. And yet, that’s not how he’s going to be treated. Like Joe Darby (of Abu Ghraib fame), he’ll likely be tagged a turncoat, a snitch.

The sad fact is, America’s not ready to face up to the things that have been done in our name, by the men and women who stand rough and ready at the wall, providing the blanket of protection under which we slumber peacefully.

But those men and women, while having committed some truly heinous acts, and while they will likely be the only ones held responsible, do not bear the ultimate responsibility.

That rests upon men like George W. Bush, Richard B. Cheney, and their coterie of mad dreamers and venal schemers.

You see, the reason why we have a Guantanamo, why we have an Abu Ghraib, or a Blacksmith Hotel, is because these men, having no idea of what constitutes sacrifice or even a hard day’s work (as we speak, Mr. Bush is currently on a five week vacation–think of that! It’s the longest Presidential vacation in 36 years), decided to take the lazy man’s way out when it came to fighting this war.

They chose the past of least resistance in torturing (and that’s what it is–let’s not get legalistic here) people who, most of the time, had little to nothing to do with September 11 and the war in Iraq.

Mark Kleiman put it best: don’t weep for the Iraqi General Mowwoush; weep instead for the flag, and the Republic for which it stands, now covered in shame, with blood dripping from every one of those scarlet stripes.

2 responses to “Another Hero

  1. First, it wasn’t Shakespeare, but Marlowe (“That was in another country, and besides, the wench is dead” is from “The Jew of Malta”)

    Second, yeah, 18 years in and he’s gonna get reamed. The plus side, (from my, admittedly biased perspective) he was a Guardsman. And when he complained to the Guard, they listened.

    Nice to see you back in the saddle.

    TK

  2. Thanks for the link and for noting the story.