http://player.vimeo.com/video/8057291

As slick as this looks, I have to agree with John Gruber and Marco Ament: I really don’t see where this product goes. Maybe there’s a space for a slightly larger version of the iPod Touch – but the problem with the tablet is that it’s a solution in search of a problem.

Why would someone like me – who’s a certified gadget freak – spend $500 on a CrunchPad/JooJoo? I have three portable computers:

  1. My original 13” MacBook (which I’ve upgraded to have 2GB of memory and a 500GB hard drive);
  2. My Acer Aspire One 751H. It’s got the same resolution as the tablet in this demo, plus it has the same 2GB as the MacBook, and 250GB of hard drive space;
  3. My iPod Touch.

People don’t think of the iPod Touch as a portable computer, but it is. After all, it runs OS X (albeit the iPhone OS variant). I’ve got it synced up with my MacBook, so that documents in my DropBox folder show up there. What’s more, it’s also synced with Evernote, so that notes that I take on my MacBook or Acer show up there as well.

My setup has the MacBook acting as a home computer, the Acer as a travel/class/on the go computer, and the iPod Touch as my constant companion. There’s no opening there for a CrunchPad/JooJoo.

Good luck, I guess, but I’m skeptical that this product goes anywhere – and that’s without the specter of pending litigation that’s potentially looming over this. TechCrunch’s Michael Arrington was right when he deadpooled this gadget – just not in the way he thought.

Comments are closed.