Adobe’s making my head hurt

I’m not even kidding:

Adobe CTO Kevin Lynch says Flash works just fine on the Apple iPhone, thank you very much — and he thinks that’s exactly why Apple keeps on denying it access. Speaking at the Web 2.0 Expo in San Francisco, he explained his belief that by eliminating Flash, Cupertino is forcing developers to build apps natively for iPhone OS rather than one of Adobe’s cross-platform solutions, and thus creating a “walled garden” of applications that users must flock to an iDevice to be able to use

(emphasis mine)

Seriously, I don’t even know what to make of this. First of all, the apps that I think Lynch is referring to look like standard Flash crap. In fairness, though, that’s not as much Adobe’s fault as it is the designer’s.

Second, it’s Apple’s platform. What, Apple’s not supposed to defend their platform because it inconveniences Adobe?

Apple’s acting this way because historically, Adobe hasn’t been exactly Johnny-on-the-spot when it comes to Mac support. Natively-designed iPhone OS apps work better, because everyone’s using the same tools, rather than one-size-fits-all solutions.

From a customer service standpoint, this is key. Full disclosure, I worked at Apple. I’ve lost track of how many times people would come in and complain about App X not working on their Mac. Invariably, it was a third-party cross-platform application. Funny thing: that never happened with an iPhone app. I wonder why?

I’ll listen to Adobe when they can figure out a way to make Flash stable. You know that Android tablet prototype that runs Flash and AIR “flawlessly”? 

Yeah, not so much. The best part is the guy saying, “Good thing I didn’t get an iPad, because this one does Flash”…and then, BOOM! goes the dynamite as the browser crashes out while browsing YouTube.

At this point, I’m not even sure what to say.

Comments are closed.