Priorities, people, priorities…

Given the amount of crap that’s epically wrong right now, I just can’t gin up any outrage over Sir Elton John signing at Rush Limbaugh’s fourth wedding. 

We’ve got the Gulf of Mexico choking on oil, Israel vs Palestinian Arabs, Part ∞, Iraq slowly descending (maybe, maybe not!) into civil war again, what seems like an increasingly fruitless war in Afghanistan, effectively a fifth of the working population unemployed, with no near-term prospect of re-employment…I’ll stop, because hopefully, you get the point.

The point?

Simply this: what took place was one rich guy singing at another rich guy’s wedding, unless there’s some hidden I-support-Rushbo’s-politics context in the lyrics of “Something About The Way You Look Tonight” that I missed all these years.

Also, if you’re going to be pissed at Sir Elton John’s appearance at Limbaugh’s wedding, then in all fairness, you should’ve been equally pissed when he took the stage and did a duet with Eminem at the Grammys*, and in the process, proceeded to be all like, “hey, Eminem doesn’t hate gays and women, no matter what his lyrics say”. 

Considering all that’s genuinely wrong with the world today, I’m just going to take a pass on the outrage carousel. 

*Or the MTV Video Music Awards, I’m not sure. Either way, being that that was a public performance before millions – rather than a private performance before dozens? I don’t know, nor do I care – I’d argue that was a far more offensive act.

Comments are closed.