The greatest tailgate party you’ll ever see…

That’s how I’d describe the World Cup to Americans, in a nutshell. Think I’m kidding?

Eight years ago, I was stationed in Korea with the Army. I was lucky enough to be there for the 2002 World Cup. Based on my first-hand experience, there’s no greater sporting event. Not even the Olympics compare, and I’ve been to the Summer Olympics. 

No thanks to Thierry Henry’s handball, we’ll be missing out on the Irish fans:



It’s not just the Irish, though:

Here you have some Mexican fans, some English fans, and the fearsome Northmen of Sweden. 

That said, the most passionate fans I ran into were the Koreans:





I’m not kidding when I say that, for every match South Korea played in 2002, you’d get upwards of a million people taking to the streets of Seoul, all chanting in unison, “Dae Han Min Guk!”, which loosely translates to “Great Korea!”. 

Incidentally, that’s why I’m supporting the U.S. bid to host either the 2018 or 2022 World Cup. The last time it was held here, in 1994, it set attendance records. If you’re interested, you should click on the link to learn more.

Comments are closed.